Book Birthday Tuesday: New Releases 9/10/19

We’re kicking off the second week of September with some pretty great book releases. We a series finale that will bring quite a popular series about a certain mortician/murder mystery series to a close, a debut novel by a famous authors husband, and apparently the next hollywood teen pregnancy movie inspiration. A few of the best (aka the two I chose to receive this month) Book of the Month YA selections sprinkled in this week as well. So let’s see exactly what we have coming out this week!

Capturing the Devil (Stalking Jack the Ripper #4) by Kerri Maniscalco – Pre-ordered

Synopsis

In the shocking finale to the bestselling series that began with Stalking Jack the Ripper, Audrey Rose and Thomas are on the hunt for the depraved, elusive killer known as the White City Devil. A deadly game of cat-and-mouse has them fighting to stay one step ahead of the brilliant serial killer—or see their fateful romance cut short by unspeakable tragedy.

Audrey Rose Wadsworth and Thomas Cresswell have landed in America, a bold, brash land unlike the genteel streets of London they knew. But like London, the city of Chicago hides its dark secrets well. When the two attend the spectacular World’s Fair, they find the once-in-a-lifetime event tainted with reports of missing people and unsolved murders.

Determined to help, Audrey Rose and Thomas begin their investigations, only to find themselves facing a serial killer unlike any they’ve heard of before. Identifying him is one thing, but capturing him—and getting dangerously lost in the infamous Murder Hotel he constructed as a terrifying torture device—is another.

Will Audrey Rose and Thomas see their last mystery to the end—together and in love—or will their fortunes finally run out when their most depraved adversary makes one final, devastating kill?

My Thoughts

I typically don’t pre-order books because I’m the worst at tracking things like that, but I made an exception for this book because of the amazing pre-order incentive. There was a gorgeous second cover of CtD that I needed and now I’m desperately trying to get through Escaping From Houdini so I can start reading this one the moment I receive it. I highly recommend this series if you haven’t picked it up. I even got my non-reader of a sister to pick up this series which is saying a lot. A badass female mortician who solves mysteries and bend gender roles in the late 1890’s? Pick it up you won’t regret it.

Frankly in Love by David Yoon – BOTM YA

Synopsis

High school senior Frank Li is a Limbo–his term for Korean-American kids who find themselves caught between their parents’ traditional expectations and their own Southern California upbringing. His parents have one rule when it comes to romance–“Date Korean”–which proves complicated when Frank falls for Brit Means, who is smart, beautiful–and white. Fellow Limbo Joy Song is in a similar predicament, and so they make a pact: they’ll pretend to date each other in order to gain their freedom. Frank thinks it’s the perfect plan, but in the end, Frank and Joy’s fake-dating maneuver leaves him wondering if he ever really understood love–or himself–at all.

My Thoughts

Ever seen Gilmore Girls? Layne Kim in that series has to hide a ton of her life and come up with the most extravagant lies to lead a semi-normal life because of her super strict korean mom. Frank of Frankly in Love appears to be having to do the same kinds of things as Layne in the synopsis. I’ve read a ton of mixed reviews on this book but I’m still going to pick it up to read it because it’s a Book of the Month YA selection that I was lucky enough to be sent and because David Yoon is Nicola Yoon’s husband so I expect great things from him. It’s the second book I selected this month from Book of the Month YA and hopefully I get it by the end of this week! (Link in title to purchase a BOTM YA edition for $9.99 is in title above)

The Ten Thousand Doors of January by Alix E. Harrow – BOTM YA

Synopsis

In the early 1900s, a young woman embarks on a fantastical journey of self-discovery after finding a mysterious book in this captivating and lyrical debut.

In a sprawling mansion filled with peculiar treasures, January Scaller is a curiosity herself. As the ward of the wealthy Mr. Locke, she feels little different from the artifacts that decorate the halls: carefully maintained, largely ignored, and utterly out of place.

Then she finds a strange book. A book that carries the scent of other worlds, and tells a tale of secret doors, of love, adventure and danger. Each page turn reveals impossible truths about the world and January discovers a story increasingly entwined with her own.

Lush and richly imagined, a tale of impossible journeys, unforgettable love, and the enduring power of stories awaits in Alix E. Harrow’s spellbinding debut–step inside and discover its magic.

My Thoughts

So a few months ago I was lucky enough to get approved for an eARC of this book. The synopsis had caught my attention because of how unique and interesting the concept of these portal doors sounded. It ended up being two stories in one, a book within a book which was super interesting. I ended up DNF-ing this book around 30%. It was so slow paced with nothing happening, more like it was setting the stage for something to happen. It just couldn’t keep my attention though and I think 30% is more than generous. That being said I might pick it up and try again where I left off soon aka I selected it for my Book of the Month YA because the cover is gorgeous. (Link in title to purchase a BOTM YA edition for $9.99 is in title above)

A Treason of Thorns by Laura E. Weymouth – 4/5 Personal Rating

Synopsis

Violet Sterling has spent the last seven years in exile, longing to return to Burleigh House. One of the six great houses of England, Burleigh’s magic always kept the countryside well. And as a child, this magic kept Violet happy, draping her in flowers while she slept, fashioning secret hiding places for her, and lighting fires on the coldest nights to keep her warm.

Everything shattered, though, when her father committed high treason trying to free Burleigh from the king’s oppressive control. He was killed, and Vi was forced into hiding.

When she’s given a chance to go back, she discovers Burleigh has run wild with grief. Vines and briars are crumbling the walls. Magic that once enriched the surrounding countryside has turned dark and deadly, twisting lush blooms into thorns, poisoning livestock and destroying crops. Burleigh’s very soul is crying out in pain.

Vi would do anything to help, and soon she finds herself walking the same deadly path as her father all those years before. Vi must decide how far she’s willing to go to save her house—before her house destroys everything she’s ever known.

My Thoughts

Pick this up at your local library, buy a copy of it, listen to the audiobook. This was such a unique concept for a novel. There are magical houses that control the land around them and are governed by their caretakers. A house is only as good as its caretaker and a caretaker always puts the house first. I liked Vi as an MC and her internal struggle about loving others verses loving her house was reletable. The magic system was fun to figure out and get into and let’s just be honest I’m a sucker for unique and well thought out magic systems. My full review is linked above in the title!

Tiger Queen by Annie Sullivan – 3/5 Personal Rating

Synopsis

From Annie Sullivan, author of A Touch of Gold, comes Tiger Queen, a sweeping YA fantasy adventure that tells the story of a fierce desert princess battling to save her kingdom. Fans of Rebel of the Sands and Meagan Spooner will devour this retelling of Frank Stockton’s famous short story, “The Lady, or the Tiger?”

In the mythical desert kingdom of Achra, an ancient law forces sixteen-year-old Princess Kateri to fight in the arena to prove her right to rule. For Kateri, winning also means fulfilling a promise to her late mother that she would protect her people, who are struggling through windstorms and drought. The situation is worsened by the gang of Desert Boys that frequently raids the city wells, forcing the king to ration what little water is left. The punishment for stealing water is a choice between two doors: behind one lies freedom, and behind the other is a tiger.

But when Kateri’s final opponent is announced, she knows she cannot win. In desperation, she turns to the desert and the one person she never thought she’d side with. What Kateri discovers twists her world—and her heart—upside down. Her future is now behind two doors—only she’s not sure which holds the key to keeping her kingdom and which releases the tiger.

My Thoughts

I was apart of a blog tour for this book over the weekend (link to blog tour post in title above) and I ended up giving it 3/5 stars. It was a quick read for me and while I did enjoy it I found the side characters and love interest a bit lacking in the characterization department. The main character was awesome though and I loved being in her head. It was also cool to read about the desert and the lives and culture of the people that lived there. The overall story was based on the short story The Lady, or the Tiger? by Frank R. Stockton. Which would you chose? Honestly I’d like to say I’m not as petty to pick the tiger but truly who knows.

Unpregnant (Unpregnant #1) by Jenni Hendriks – TBR

Synopsis

Seventeen-year-old Veronica Clarke never thought she would wish she’d failed a test until she finds herself holding a thick piece of plastic in her hands and staring at two solid pink lines. Even the most consistent use of condoms won’t prevent pregnancy when your boyfriend secretly pokes holes in them to keep you from going out-of-state for college.

Veronica needs an abortion, but the closest place she can legally get one is over nine hundred miles away—and Veronica doesn’t have a car. Too ashamed to ask her friends or family for help, Veronica turns to the one person she believes won’t judge her: Bailey Butler, Jefferson High’s own little black cloud of anger and snark—and Veronica’s ex-best friend. Once on the road, Veronica quickly remembers nothing with Bailey is ever simple and that means two days of stolen cars, shotguns, crazed ex-boyfriends, truck stop strippers with pro-life agendas, and a limo driver named Bob. But the pain and betrayal of their broken friendship can’t be outrun. When their fighting leads to a brutal moment of truth, Bailey abandons Veronica. Now Veronica must risk everything in order to repair the hurt she’s caused.

My Thoughts

So this bad boy was added to my list last minute this morning. I had heard nothing about it on social media until I was headed to bed last night. I was scrolling through Twitter and BAM so many tweets/retweets from a ton of authors I follow. I need to know what all the buzz is about. I also need to know why it’s being made into a movie. Also what crazy ass boy pokes holes in condoms. Dump him and run girl. Overall it sounds like a crazy road trip book and I adore those. So I’ll be adding this one to the top of my already extremely long TBR pile somewhere around the top. If you’ve read an ARC of it please let me know what all the hype is about below.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s